From unassuming house to turreted mansion
Just above the entrance door, a carved date in stone dates Easter Elchies House all the way back to 1700, although a building in some form may have been present on the site as early as 1543.
Built for Captain John Grant of Elchies as his holiday home, the house graces the hillside above the picturesque River Spey, famous for its salmon fishing beat. Later his grandson (also named John) inherited the estate, and he sold it to the Earl of Findlater and Seafield in 1759. To circle the narrative around again, while the Seafield family took ownership of the estate, Sir Lewis Grant of Grant, kinsman of the original Grants of Easter Elchies later leased the house from the Seafields. Although Easter Elchies House was occupied by various families through the years, it remained under ownership of the Seafield family until the mid-1960s.